What is Christian art?

Please read Amy Frykholm of The Christian Century’s blog about the recent ArtPrize given to a stained-glass mosaic that was described as “Tim McGraw wearing a wig on a cross.”

I have a background in news, I went to a liberal seminary, and I love debating politics and theology. All of these things have made me feel like I don’t quite fit in with my fellow Christians – especially my fellow pastors.

My goal with this site is to create meaningful art based on what we hear God saying to us through the weekly lectionary passages. I hope that sometimes it will be comforting but also sometimes unsettling. Comforting because we are comforted by God in our times of trouble. But also unsettling because Jesus and the prophets taught us that everything is not right with society and we need to stand up for ourselves and others against oppression. Some stand up through political advocacy, some through writing and some through visual art.

If you are also bothered by all the pretty and complacent Christian art, then I hope you’ll join this journey and create something thought-provoking.

Categories: Year C | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

