My Rock (Proper 19B)

It’s probably the most popular line from a psalm used just before a pastor preaches their sermon: “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my strength and my redeemer,” (Psalm 19:14, NRSV) although you’ve probably heard “my rock and my redeemer” more often.

So let’s explore what it means for God to be your strength or your rock. We’re going to start by taking a few moments of silence to think about when you’ve relied on God in your life. You may jot down a keyword to remind you.

Take out a piece of drawing paper and, if you have them, sketching pencils of different lead sizes. You’re going to create a rock shape with sentences about these times by switching leads to create density and switching directions to create shape. It might be easiest to start by writing at the top of the page and slowing shortening the lines (while avoiding a pyramid shape), then flip the page so your first line becomes the base. Or write in a series of boulders with different leads while switching between print and cursive.

When you’re done writing, draw a picture of yourself on top of the rock.

Categories: Ordinary Time/Propers, Year B | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “My Rock (Proper 19B)

  1. Hello, very professional high level blog! thank you for sharing. Because of good writing, and I learned a lot, and I am glad to see such a beautiful thing. Sorry for my bad English. ?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

