Epiphany +2A

epiphany-2a-for-blog-postI begin each of my quilt blocks with patterns created by Tula Pink or Laurie Aaron Hird’s Farmer’s Wife Sampler and Farmer’s Wife 1930s Sampler, but I always adapt them somehow.

This weeks came from Pink but it had an odd piece in the pink frame area and the green pieces were two different sizes. I wanted the pieces to be all the same size since the passage points out all gifts are of equal value.

For theological reason I made aesthetic decisions that sent me to a grid sheet to draw out a newish pattern. Once I had the sizes I wanted, I created the template in Photoshop. This is where I add the text so it will be consistent. I figure out the size by centering the largest word and increasing until it fills the space without over dominating it. I then flatten the layers and move it to a new file, then undo changes until I can type the next word in. Re-flatten, copy and paste into new file until I have all four. Then I move on to the next size square and repeat the process.

For the center “gift” square, I snipped grosgrain ribbon about 3″ long and temporarily glued in place on the seafoam muslin. My sewing machine has a few decorative stitches, so I used the flower to sew one ribbon in place. Then I snipped another 3″ piece of ribbon and added it to the square. Once that was in place I trimmed off the excess fabric and ribbon to get a 2 1/2″ square for the center.

Prompts from the Past

 

Isaiah 49:1-7

Isaiah tells us he was given special gifts (“mouth like a sharp sword”) by God even before he was born. We’re all given special gifts, but we often choose to hide what makes us special because they make us stick out when we want to fit in. Who wants a friend with a sharp tongue? Or we mistake our gifts for a particular skill set we’ve learned.

Take out a piece of paper and write down what makes you different; what you see that others don’t; what would you do if people would not object; what do you enjoy doing but don’t have enough time to do. Somewhere in there are your gifts and possibly seeds of your call.

1 Corinthians 1:1-9

Later on in 1 Corinthians 12, Paul will get more into detail on the spiritual gifts. For now, here’s a listing from Wikipedia that comes from the Bible. Think of your gifts as ways that you serve other people. Look over what your wrote about yourself for Isaiah 49 and ask yourself how they may be used to help people. Give yourself a few possibilities.

John 1:29-42

And, finally, what gifts have others seen in you that you didn’t recognize? I enjoy teaching, but it took someone else pointing out that I’m better with people who have difficulty.

Embracing and living out your call is like taking on a whole new identity, so begin with an image of yourself and modify it to be the “super you” that you could become if you lived out your call. Have fun with it – make yourself a superhero, an angel, whatever. And then give yourself a new name.

Categories: Epiphany, Year A | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

